Murder Most Actual – Book Review

Title: Murder Most Actual
Author: Alexis Hall
Series/Number: N/A
Genre: Mystery
Age: Adult
Publication Date: November 9, 2021
Publisher: Kobo Originals
Themes: Lesbian rep, troubled marriage, black mc, sapphic, Podcasting,

Synopsis:

From the author of Boyfriend Material and Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake comes a cozy mystery that revisits the Golden Age of detective fiction, starring a heroine who’s more podcaster than private eye and topped with a lethal dose of parody — perfect for fans of Clue, Knives Out, and Only Murders in the Building!

When up-and-coming true crime podcaster Liza and her corporate financier wife Hanna head to a luxurious hotel in the Scottish Highlands, they’re hoping for a chance to rekindle their marriage – not to find themselves trapped in the middle of an Agatha Christie-esque murder mystery with no way home. But who better to take on the case than someone whose entire profession relies on an obsession with all things mysterious and macabre? Though some of her fellow guests may consider her an interfering new media hack, Liza knows a thing or two about crime and – despite Hanna’s preference for waiting out the chaos behind a locked door – might be the only one capable of discovering the killer. As the bodies rack up and the stakes rise, can they save their marriage — and their lives?

Thank you to Netgalley and Kobo for a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This was a very fun murder mystery! I really enjoyed following the story from a true crime podcasters point of view. It wasn’t a point of view that I’ve ever read from before, but I really did enjoy it and thought it was super fun. I also like the relationships between Hanna and Liza. Though they were struggling in their marriage they still cared about each other and wanted to support each other.

It wasn’t very obvious who the killer was and what happened in the story, which was nice. There were a lot of potential suspects so it made it hard for me to guess who the murderer was. I also liked that there were little nods to some mystery classics and it really did feel like playing, or rather reading, a game of clue. I don’t think it was the most gripping mystery, but I really did like it and had a good time reading it.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s